ADVICE RATING |
    4.55 (Highly recommend) from 18 votes (691 Visits) |
Just a few moments ago as I was trying to get to the latest activity page of Minti, the page changed to a very authentic and authourative site stating that my Anti-virus protection on my PC was inadequate. Therefore My computer was at risk of viruses and my passwords being
transmitted to unwanted sites. It had a little info box that had my country, my operating system and my browser in use. But the browser it had listed was not what I use, that's what made the alarm bells ring loud and clear. It of course wanted me to download and make further purchases of thier anti-viral software. The name of the program they were trying to get me to download was WinAntiVirus Pro. The site that it was on was amaena.com.
Now I'm a real sceptic. I don't open email from those I don't know, and I don't go downloading content from sites I'm not sure of, and as my McAfee expired recently I am even more cautious.
So for everyone elses safety I thought I'd check it out, via a web search. So I searched for "amaena scam", and it brought up a lot of info about it.
According to the McAfee Site Advisor it gets a big red cross...danger, stay away basically. Comments made state that this site/program can put spyware, adware and viruses on your computer. Also scams, phishing, spam, excessive pop-ups, and may also take over your browser and KERPLUT goes your computer.
So please for the safety of your machine do not download any of these programs until you have verified the authenticity of them.
The simplest way to check the authenticity of anything like this is to do a search with the name and SCAM typed after it.
Here's some some sites with more info about this nasty little bit of work!!
http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/amaena.com/summary/
http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/privacyprotector.com
http://wiki.castlecops.com/Malware_Removal:_Virtumundo
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20060806045951AASarSb
Hope this saves others from a little heartache and $$$$$